Weapons “Review”

Release date: August 8, 2025 (USA)

Director: Zach Cregger

MPAA rating: R

Screenplay: Zach Cregger

Producers: Zach CreggerRaphael MargulesMiri YoonRoy LeeJ. D. Lifshitz

Running time: 2h 8m

If there’s one thing I’d request from audience viewers on this feature. It’d be not to ruin this movie. From what I expected going in to what I saw…..is summed up by W.T.F :D. Let’s Discuss.


How’d I paint a picture of this movie without going into spoilers. When 17 children have woken up at 2.17am ran out their front door and disappeared to never come back is your opening scene this movie doesn’t hold back.

Telling you this story through layers, picking characters point of view, then slowly revealing how we get to the movies combined conclusion. Is my favorite story telling method. Although not necessarily slow. It does require some sticking with it in order to get to some pretty awesome scenes maybe even for some intense.

I’d love to dive in deeper but go experience this through just the teaser trailer or no trailer at all. Seeing Julia Garner in this role is awesome as it’s what I wanted from her when watching Wolfman earlier in the year. There’s a lot of surprisingly good actors here which I didn’t catch from the trailer so enjoy their performances.

If anyone wants to discuss spoilers or anything I’d love to discuss more in the comments however for now I’ll wrap this “Review” of Weapons as this. It’s a great movie. Sure it has many questions to answer. Sure you may leave wanting 5 more minutes. But what if this was a part 1 or a piece of the puzzle for this mystery? What if there’s more to be revealed and layers to be pulled back on?

If Weapons is standalone I’d say 8.5/10. Let it cook and it’ll serve you something delicious. If we’re only at the surface of what went down. Then this could be a masterpiece series that I’m excited to jump back into and love to see more. When comparing it to Sinners. I couldn’t give this a 9. So make of that when going into watch Weapons this weekend.


Thank you all for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”. Looking forward to hear your thoughts below :D. Think a genre should be changed from horror/mystery to something else? Let’s discuss that also :D.

Appreciate you being a member of Popped and stay tuned for more “Reviews” real soon. Either we’re going to stay in this dark realm with Strange Harvest or we’re jumping out to freakier matters with Freakier Friday.

Until next time though, happy movie going!

2025 Mid-Way look “Review”

Welcome fellow movie goers, this Pop Date will go over a look at 2025 thus far and what’s planned to be reviewed. Maybe some hidden secret gems. Some disappointments? We’ll review in 2025 December to see the outcome.

By each month in bold will be movies I’ll lock in a review of, all going well. The Italic number is either a polled or a surprise random movie watch to add to months reviews.

August 20258 | 3

Bad Guys 2, Sketch & Naked Gun – Reviewed | Freakier Friday | Weapons | Nobody 2? | Witchboard | Honey Don’t! | Ne Zha 2 (Eng Dub) | Caught Stealing | Toxic Avenger


September 20254 | 2

Conjuring | Long Walk | Sound of Music? (Never watched more than 5 minutes) | Him | One Battle After Another | Spinal Tap 2?


October 20257 | 1

Smashing Machine | Roofman | Tron | Black Phone 2 | Good Fortune | Mortal Kombat 2 | Chainsaw Man | Stitch Head


November 20255

Predator | Running Man | See Me 3 | Wicked | Zootopia 2


December 20254

Freddy’s 2 | Avatar 3 | SpongeBob | Housemaid


This was using firstshowing.net on August 6th – 100 Movies for 2025 is looking certain!

Currently at 82 with 2 of those movies having caveat – 1 Streamer 1 Released 2024 Christmas going wide in America 2025 January…. Does it count ? :p either way 80 currently with a potential of adding at least 25 movies form the bold minus the re-releases. Yet along bonus movies and surprises along the way :D.

Top 5 thus far from 2025:

Ne Zha 2, F1 & Bring Her Back (Wasn’t even on my radar!) | Sinners | Life of Chuck (Glad I Watched) | (Betterman if allowed)

My hopes of a top 10:

Love Hurts (Big ooof) | Lilo & Stich (We’re talking about the animated one right? :s) | Ballerina (I feel bad) | Train Your Dragon (Was good but not top 10 good) | Jurassic World (Ouch) | Trey Parker Movie (Got delayed to 2026)

Dark Horse Shoutouts:

Captain America (In a different universe) | Looney Tunes (Still had fun!) | Mickey 17 (Ouch) | Minecraft (HAHAHAHA Dark Horse – slayed) | Until Dawn ( It is what it was) | M3GAN 2.0 (Way to not read the room) | Fantastic Four (Can we switch marvel movies to Thunderbolts :D) | Mortal Kombat 2 (Let’s GO!! There’s still hope!)

Love to hear your thoughts on this list – Anything stick out / Missing from the list?

Lots added to wrap the year up. Podcast R.I.P haha. Happy Watching All ❤

Last shout outs:

Weapons | Long Walk | Predator | Wicked | Avatar 3

My last hopefuls to make the top 10 list of 2025 – Let’s see if there’s any surprises and fails.

Thus far, here’s my personal bottom 5:

1Screamboat – 2.5/10
2The Legend of Ochi – 2.5/10
3A Minecraft Movie – 2.5/10
4Death of a Unicorn – 2.5/10
5Hurry Up Tomorrow – 3.0/10

How’s your 2025 looking thus far? In line with your expectations or having surprises along the way like Ne Zha 2 did for myself :D.

Smurfs “Review”

Release date: July 18, 2025 (USA)

Director: Chris Miller

Music composed by: RihannaHenry Jackman

Producers: RihannaTyran SmithRyan HarrisJay Brown

Running time: 1h 32m

MPAA rating: PG

Going to make this quick as need to pack for Comic Con! 😀


Quick thoughts. Movie was overall okay. It had good content and fun scenes within it. For a short movie it sure got boring at moments. Could have cut the Rihanna songs personally for the classics but we eventually got some :D.

Loved the Sponge Bob short at the beginning. Also cool setup for a sequel in the mid credit scene. Thought the multiverse stuff would be explored more from what’s shown in the trailer but alas it’s mainly the worlds been shown from the trailer.

MVP goes to the turtle, loved him. Also was cool for No Name Smurf to have his journey. Was a little distracting having James Corden be the voice as a No Name character. His voice actor certainly isn’t.

It’s got some lore building to the world which is cool and I’m down for a sequel. It’s an okay to fine movie at best. 6/10 for Smurfs Popped.blog “review” :D.


Thank you all for coming by Popped.blog. I’ve seen an increase in traffic to the sight recently and appreciate all those recent subscribers 😀 Once live and Comic Con have been caught up on. Let’s dive into the second half of the year like I WANTED TOO back in late June early July :D.

A las until next time movie goers. I’ll see you, next time. Happy Fantastic 4 viewings this weekend and excited to see if this keeps momentum for the MCU or the ride to Dooms Day is going to be a dry spell of nothingness.

M3GAN 2.0 “Review”

Release date: June 27, 2025 (USA)

Director: Gerard Johnstone

MPAA rating: PG-13

Prequel: M3GAN

Running time: 1h 59m

Distributed by: Universal Pictures

M3gan is back in M3gan 2.0. A PG13 movie that pushes that boundary to it’s limit. I can easily see a R rated version releasing on digital like the 1st feature did. Did I enjoy it? Let’s discuss 😀


I dug this movie from the intro. A darker entry into this world focused on the military and corporate control over AI tech and the sequel of M3gan’s design being used for their purpose.

With how strong this intro was. I personally felt the shift in tone and pacing when we visited Gemma and the gang during the first hour. It took a minute for these two fronts to merge into unity but that second hour was golden.

Great performances for this cast once again. Violet McGraw playing a slightly older Cady is back and this time prepared to protect and defend herself without M3gan in the picture. So awesome action and cinematography used in those scenes. When robots / AI fought one another it was epic 😀 finger licking goodness. But even a nice surprise from the human fights scenes also.

Lots of surprises in store that the trailer leaves out (Thank you marketing) but also some cut scenes which I really missed as my most anticipated scene from the trailer was cut… maybe in the R rated version? Enjoy the first title? Then you’re going to have a fun time in the sequel. Maybe we can push this franchise to get another and wrap it up in a trilogy? Or….maybe be apart of the Blum house verse 😀 please please please haha

It’s a solid good watch. Maybe nothing great but a solid one time watch with a Popped score of 7/10. Maybe a 7.5/10 if you’re re-watching this as a trilogy but I’m happy with the 7. It’s a worthy fun watch to be enjoyed this weekend at the theatre.


One feature left to go for June and thus wrapping up the half way mark of 2025 with F1. All going well I’ll check this out Friday. Thank you for coming by Popped.blog for your movie “Reviews”.

62/63 movies for 2025 thus far Reviewed ” 😀 well on our path to 100 for 2025. How is your movie going thus far? Have a goal and on track? What did you think of M3gan 2.0. Love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Until next batch though, happy movie going!

Jurassic World Rebirth “Review”

Release date: July 2, 2025 (USA)

Director: Gareth Edwards

Starring: Scarlett JohanssonMahershala AliJonathan BaileyRupert FriendManuel Garcia-RulfoEd Skrein

MPAA rating: PG-13

Running time: 2h 14m

Distributed by: Universal Pictures

Massive Disclaimer before we discuss this feature. My experience was utterly impacted and ruined by 2 peoples commentary throughout the ENTIRE movie. ENTIRE MOVIE. Want to hear how bad talking ruins the movie going experience then stick around. Otherwise wanting to know my frustrated “Review” – The movie is fine. Not worth sitting through someone talking for 2 hours. If my wife and I wasn’t blocked in by other parties I’d have been fine walking out and wouldn’t have missed anything not seeing this title. (We had earplugs in too btw)

Let’s discuss shall we :S


Disclaimer / PSA

With this being an early “Review” of this title I’ll be brief with any and all spoilers. But mind you. Remember the above and hold that with a pinch of salt. If you’re someone that likes to talk, please stay at home and wait for streaming. If you’re someone that likes to discuss what’s happening on the screen with your party. Please wait for the streaming platforms to release and have your own watch party in your own space and not a public viewing. Want to watch it as the theatre? RENT YOUR OWN ROOM. Please don’t impact others in a PUBLIC showing. This shouldn’t need to be said but come on!

Characters

The intro to this film setting up characters was tough. There’s two groups. One a family and the other an organization going to this area for (Reasons). There’s 1 member from each group that absolutely makes this a hard entry point as I hated them both. Mix them together and there’s some qualities from the “Good” characters that balance the awful. But I really didn’t care about the characters.

Story

From the intro this movie felt like a re-skin of the recent Ghostbusters movies. When the nostalgia music hits it’s the member berries doing the emotional pull to childhood memories of the originals. It had moments but sadly feels to be on trend of the decline we’ve been having with the 2nd trilogy sequels. But the franchise has us coming back again and again.

Overall

I really wish I had just walked out rather than stick through the entire movie. I know my wife is done with release / early access titles from this experience. We bring earplugs for a reason as we often get some talking. But not the entire movie being commentated over.

The movie had fine moments. Specially once the team gets to the island. Prior to then it was a hard watch. Then you get those Jurassic moments and maybe I’ll re-watch this title to check those scenes out without being totally frustrated.

What’s to come? We shall have to wait and see, but I’m feeling the same feelings from this franchise as I’ve had for the MCU of late (Until Thunder Bolts). I’m indifferent if I even check the next title out. I could honestly skip it and watch a recap video if I need that info for the next installment if I were to check it out.

I’m hoping my experience isn’t yours and you’re able to enjoy this title and have a good time. I didn’t stick around after to chat with the other movie goers and I often do so I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below once the movie releases July 2nd.

Popped score of 6.5/10 – It’s a fine movie. Not bad but not a fully good experience / ride. Some moments of boredom was experienced but had moments worth checking out.


Thanks for coming by Popped. Blog for your movie “Reviews”. Apologize this wasn’t the positive experience / “Review” you usually get but hey, it’s an experience and hopefully a warning to those out there on how much there chatter can and will impact other movie going audience members.

Don’t forget to drop your experiences below and love to hopefully hear better experiences and ratings :D. Stay tuned for tomorrow when my M3gan 2.0 “Review” drops and sometime over the weekend / next week for F1 :D. Depends if I can fit it in during work/Pokémon Go Global Fest :D.

Until next batch though, happy movie going 😀

Bride Hard “Review”

Initial release: June 20, 2025

Director: Simon West

MPAA rating: R

Running time: 1h 45m

Production companies: Bride Hard FilmsCopper IslandBalcony 9 ProductionsGramercy Park Media

Producers: Joel David MooreColleen CampCassian ElwesBob YariMax OsswaldJason Ross Jallet

When I saw the trailer I thought it was a Pitch Perfect sequel then saw the title and said…Spin Off? After watching it, this wasn’t true, but I did have some surprises in my experience and for that I may have a Joker 2 experience compared to others out there with the 4.4/10 & 20% RT.

Let’s discuss shall we 😀


Rebel Wilson playing Sam and childhood friend to Betsy played by Anna Camp. Re-uniting 30 years later after Sam moves away, Betsy is getting married with Sam as her maid of honor. The intro of Bride Hard will be your first test. Did you enjoy the jokes or did you enjoy the action?

I personally enjoyed Rebel Wilson in her action scenes and physical jokes over that of her usual comedy that just didn’t land this time around for me. I actually enjoyed the action with her to the point I felt like she could have her own Bond series from this. (Think origins of M from the James Bond franchise.)

On the comedy front, I loved all the bride maids (Actors: Anna Chlumsky, Gigi Zumbado & Da’Vine Joy Randolph.) They had fun lines and even got to enjoy some of the action once the movie cooked.

Anna Camp was kind of the middle ground playing off both fronts. I thought to myself, if they made a sequel I can see them doing it together but there’s an additional character that had fun moments with Rebel Wilson ( Sherry Cola – Keep your eyes on her going forth 😀 ).

Didn’t pass the test? Maybe get a refund here. It’s probably not for you. However… if one of those sides did entertain. Stick around, as the kids say, this film cooks and really gets into it’s strides once you enter the wedding.

It’s stupid fun popcorn movie. That may offer something to those into Naked Gun or wanting to see the cast from Pitch Perfect trying their hand at something a little different. Even if the comedy side was awkward at first finding the groundwork to play off.

Well you made it to the end and it’s time for the Popped score 😀 For today’s movie which was a total surprise to myself and probably many many others. I’m giving it a weak 7/10. It was almost 6.5 at a fine movie. But movie had many fun moments good enough to get it to a good 7 rating.


That’s the fun of movies. What works for me, may not for someone else. But we all have those certain movie going techniques to get something out of a movie even if it’s not the overall blockbuster or AAA 100’s of Millions of $’s being spent.

When the actors are having fun the audience will most likely get something fun out of the experience also.

Lost me or not on this one. Love to hear yours thoughts below. Seen a movie that everyone disliked that you enjoyed? Let us know below.

Until next batch we meet, thank you all for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”

Elio “Review”

Release date: June 20, 2025 (USA)

Directors: Adrian MolinaDomee ShiMadeline Sharafian

Running time: 1h 39m

Story by: Madeline SharafianDomee ShiAdrian MolinaJulia Cho

MPAA rating: PG

Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Believe it or not. This is the better movie releasing this weekend! Disney should have pushed this over the live action Lilo & Stitch. Or pushed it for a fathers day movie. Anything than letting this beautiful Pixar movie get bombed at the box office and released later on Disney+.


Elio, the boy that sadly has lost his parents and along with them his place on planet earth. Feeling isolated and alone with no place nor purpose. Elio seeks out to be abducted by aliens thus conveniently having this opportunity through his Aunts workplace.

This film sadly wont be up there with a classic Toy Story tier of Pixar. But is definitely able to bring the feels and heart of Pixar well above a lot of their most recent works. (2nd Best since 2020 under Inside Out 2 – Didn’t see Elemental mind you but heard it was good).

The theatre I watched this is was applauding at the credit roll which was really nice to experience after this touching story. Both on the story of Elio’s friend and his father. Along with Elio finding friends and a place in the universe.

Keeping this one short as that’s pretty much it. Go experience this movie and give it a chance. Yea the development of this movie was dragged through several re-shoots and test screenings, but they have something special here worth checking out and worth of Pixar’s name.

Only request from little o me….. please bring back the shorts. Miss those Pixar shorts before the main feature. Thank you DreamWorks for picking this up with your most recent titles. With that said and done let’s give this a Popped score and wrap the batch up. 8/10 😀


Thanks for coming to Popped for your movie “Reviews” movie goers :D. Maybe return tomorrow for something a little…different? With Bride Hard. I’ve seen a sneak at the review scores and wowzer I’m not sure if it’s worth my time….but Mission objective 100 movies is pulling me in 😀 haha.

Until next batch!

28 Years Later “Review”

Release date: June 20, 2025 (USA)

Director: Danny Boyle

Prequel: 28 Weeks Later

Running time: 1h 55m

MPAA rating: R

Distributed by: Sony Pictures Releasing

It’s insane the first film released in 2002, absolutely amazing movie with a not so bad sequel…but you don’t need to know any of that for 28 years later… or do you? (At least watch the first even if it’s not required to enjoy the latest installment). Let’s discuss!


Want to avoid spoilers then just know. I enjoyed the film and looking forward to what’s to come next. Have fun and enjoy the sequel of 28 Days Later.

Want to know a little more with slight maybe medium spoiler? Then stick around. 28 years later takes us further out into the timeline of this rage virus outbreak to the point where England is in quarantine zone. Small islands / establishments have been setup to continue life in these new conditions but now development of this virus has created many variations like Alphas, Betas & Slow / Fast kinds of infected.

Aaron Taylor-Johnson playing Jamie is the introduction of this feature and leads us to 28 years later in his settlement with wife and child. Spike the 12 year old being played by Alfie Williams is taken out on his first skirmish to get his first kill on the main land. What awaits is to be enjoyed and witnessed :D. It’s pretty awesome despite some creative decisions with the cinematography that felt personally jarring at first before getting “used to it”.

The first half of this feature felt great and the world being created is one I’m very happy to see have a sequel in very soon from now in early 2026. The second half kind of lost me but that’s where I’ll stop to avoid spoilers. Least to say, the ending certainly wraps it up and I’m very excited to see what’s to come in the bone temple.

If this was to be stand alone. Id give a very good Popped score of 7.5. However knowing this is getting a sequel so soon and expanding on the world built in this title. It’s getting a weak great 8/10 :D. I could critique that second half but let’s discuss that in the comments away from those going in for the first time.


Thank you all for coming to Popped for your movie “Reviews” and I’m excited to wrap this trio batch up with the last movie, Elio!

The Life of Chuck

Release date: June 13, 2025 (USA)

Director: Mike Flanagan

Running time: 1h 51m

MPAA rating: R

Genres: Science fictionFantasyDrama

Distributed by: Neon

A Stephen King movie :O The Horrors! The Spooks! The…Fantasy…Science Fiction…Drama… Nani! You sure it’s Stephen King! Nope, you’re right, my bad. Let’s dive in and check this out.. I mean discuss this title because I had no idea how good this movie was going to be prior.


Hype! Hype! Hype! Let’s calm it down now and temper temper temper….Tempered? Alrighty!

Haha I don’t want to inflate an experience but also get across how good this feature is. The ending sentence / line was what got it from a solid great 8 to a 9 for me personally. My friend at work even said he may buy it.

My wife just asked me what’s it about and without wanting to spoil I broke it down to this in a nut shell for y’all to enjoy :D. When globally, humanity is being hit with devastation. Natural disasters, famine, chaos etc. etc. No internet, no cell towers for phones communication etc. (I’d go on but honestly it’s very deep with how they set this title up.) A common character for everyone, despite not knowing him… is Charles Krantz aka Chuck played by Tom Hiddleston.

I wrote down a line from Tom’s prior works 😉 but stating that could be taken as a spoiler if you read into that and up to date with his works. Excellent cast in this feature. Karen Gillan, Mark Hamill, Matthew Lillard among many many more excellent actors. This feature is a must see. Everyone’s going to be affected by this title differently. It depends what you take from it. But honestly if anything. Those last words at the ending is the message that’s so golden.

If you’d like to combine this and the prior “Review” with messages of being on the right side of the coin between Hero & Villain while also making the most of life and making the right decisions within your heart and soul. These are very different titles with great combo watch 😀 With very different styles and genres but hey. That’s cinema for you.

Life of Chuck goes into my top 10 at an 9/10 Popped “Review” and would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below. Neon at it again against A24 with another excellent title. Will this be the title to battle against The Materialist? I was going to skip it but let’s see what tomorrow brings.


Thank you all for coming to Popped for your movie “Reviews”. Read all of today’s batch? Firstly a massive thank you and appreciate you taking the time to do so. Secondly, don’t forget to subscribe to see movie “Reviews”. The goal for 2025 is 100 movies and we’re certainly on pace to crush it. With June being the middle of the year expect a Popped Date tomorrow with a run through of what’s come and to come for 2025 :D.

See you next batch! Happy movie going everyone!

The Unholy Trinity

Initial release: October 12, 2024 (World Premier) USA Release June 13th 2025

Director: Richard Gray

MPAA rating: R

Running time: 1h 33m

Distributed by: Roadside AttractionsSaban Capital Group

Box office: $559,610

This feature is insane! To see that critics gave it under 20% out of 100 :o. I’m not a fan of westerns. So why am I checking this out? The actors are awesome! Pierce Brosnan & Samuel L. Jackson from the trailer got me into the theater seat for this title.

So what’s my Popped score? Let’s discuss!


Henry Broadway played by Brandon Lessard finds himself in a dilemma set upon him from his father. Promising to revenge his father that was setup for murder. Henry seeks the sheriff of a local town to claim his life.

This is where the film takes several paths of depth to explore the statement. Villains & Heroes, don’t get yourself caught on the wrong side of the coin. To someone you’re a Villain and on the other side you’re the Hero.

Out for blood or for justice? The choice path is yours to walk. For a short hour and 33 minute feature I had a great time. Honestly a little more than The Phoenician Scheme thus placing this at a 8/10 great movie. Yea it’s higher than the average scores of 66% / 6.2/10 but hey, I had a much better time than the critics so make your own decision and choose your path of the coin :D.

I could dive into the story if you’d like but for a short movie. Where’s the fun in that hey :D. It’s a western. There’s murder, guns, shooting, fighting, saloons and all. Experienced characters and fresh adventurers to boot. Gangs and crooks along with hidden surprises. It’s a fun movie worth checking out, even if curious on the fence. Unless you took the pill that some critics did.


Shall we get to the best saved last? Let’s dive into the next feature of our trilogy batch. The life of chuck :D. Thanks for coming to Popped for your movie “reviews” and as usual. Love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑