Mickey 17 “Review”

Release date: March 7, 2025 (USA)

Director: Bong Joon-ho

Screenplay: Bong Joon-ho

Budget: $118 million

Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures

Adapted from: Mickey7

Maybe my interest levels were set high as I waited all weekend to check this out…. shall we?

(Added after writing….P.S – If you plan to watch this, maybe turn back now….)


Mickey 17, I wish they cut almost an hour of content / story that could have been used to better the storytelling and establishing the world and reasons for the characters motives. (Yea I’m going to hold back on my rant from last night after watching the film).

Maybe that content was told in Mickey 1 through 16 but this movie had so much useless bloat. Setting up parameters and then throwing away those parameters moments later within the same scene. Unlike a few features I’ve checked out recently where the final act looses me. This title had the opposite effect.

Pacing and introductions were fine at first however the pacing was slow and bulked by pointless sex scenes. Sex jokes and useless bloat that was setup just for a plot point that could have been told in such a better way than using up 40 minutes of screen time. Like who the fuck / when the fuck did the opposition get setup. That came out of freaking nowhere. Anyway, the final act brought my bored, totally over the characters and awful plot back into a sense of enjoyment when the point of this story finally clicked into place. (Slight spoiler but it’s in the trailer and posters so…) I loved the aliens (Or residents) of the planet we end up going to.

If it wasn’t for that saving grace I was honestly wondering why was this feature made. I understand now why people are praising Robert Pattinson and the directors previous works. Because the movie was almost dog ****. My wife and father in law said they had a good time and enjoyed it so I’m sure my thoughts are the minority on this one but something about it just didn’t click / connect to keep me entertained.

I’ve already bagged on a particular title from last year so I wont do so again. So let’s use a more recent example feature that bombed / got low ratings but I actually enjoyed. “In the lost lands”.

While In the Lost Lands had a terrible script and executed storytelling poorly drastically towards the middle and ending. I loved the world that was built. The characters, despite dialogue missing a lot. Was held together with a specific style that was fun and entertaining. Despite Mark Ruffalo being annoying so you hate him to want him out the picture. I really hated the character for hating the character itself. I felt no connection in any positive light to himself and his wife. I hated them both. I disliked all the scenes they were in and felt the story was dragged down with all the bloat before it got somewhat good. In the Lost Lands I was captured by the world where I didn’t care the movie got poopy. I was having a good time. Mickey 17 was saved by the aliens and thank fuck for that because I could have walked out and felt like I missed nothing from the experience.

Unpopular opinion ? Maybe. But that’s why it’s a “Review” my honest thoughts / experience watching this title. Want a rant / a breakdown into why I didn’t like this title even further? Then let me know in the comments and I’ll continue. Would I recommend… probably not when better content is out. Curious to see what kind of experience you’ll have? Then check it out and hopefully have a good time. Bring this down to an hour and half movie I’d of given it a 7 but with the bloat and boring almost hour of eh, I’d give this a 5.5 / 6 out of 10. An above average feature. It’s a movie…..


Well there it is, my “Review” on Mickey 17. Was it smart to switch this release with Sinners. I think so. Having this now allows a potential better movie in the summer and hopefully washes the bad taste out of my mouth from the sauce.

Excited for Looney Tunes, curious to check out Black Bag aaaaand seeing the early reviews coming in for Opus… Maybe we’ll get a new addition to the bottom 5 movies of 2025. Mickey 17 didn’t make it on the list but it’s one of my lower rated features thus far for 2025.

I think Ne Zha 2 broke me setting the bar so high that all I want is to devour that content again and again. Longing for the English Dub to release and the third title to be confirmed / discussed :D.

Thanks for coming to Popped blog for your Movie “Reviews” and hopefully the sauce wasn’t so bad that this left an after taste in your mouth for movies going forth. Overall though 2025 is shaping up to be a better year for content thus far…..right? 😀 Maybe we should break the spring down comparing to last year once we hit April.

In the Lost Lands “Review”

Release date: March 7, 2025 (USA)

Director: Paul W. S. Anderson

Budget: $55 million

Story by: George R. R. MartinPaul W. S. Anderson

Distributed by: Constantin FilmVertical

Based on: “In the Lost Lands”; by George R. R. Martin

From Resident Evil to In the Lost Lands, Milla Jovovich has been awesome for those turn your brain off popcorn movies. The trailer hooked me giving vibes of the later half of Resident Evil series movies. Shall we discuss In the Lost Lands now….


I thought we were in for a good time and mostly I was. But before we take that twist and turns shall we discuss the awesomeness that this world is. Combine the world of Mad Max with cinematography of Sin City and characters from (Although didn’t quite get there but could have if cooked proper) Diablo games. This combination and added cherry with Milla Jovovich & Dave Bautista acting was awesome and such a fun popcorn film.

Then the script showed dents. Dents became holes then a sour grape mess. The actors did their best with this but my fun ride of a 7 dropped to a 6.5 fine scoring mid way through. When I finally got my wish of the witch using her powers outside of her intro setting. I wanted the clock to turn back and unsee the poor quality that was the entire scene.

Again, it was bad but fun to experience. I see worse scores online depending where you look. So if you’re not digging the intro, you wont like the mid way point. If you don’t like that the ending just gets worse. But if there’s any enjoyment from the characters and visuals. Then maybe it’s something to stick with. A guilty pleasure movie if you will. I doubt this will sprout into a franchise, series or even get a sequel….. but if it does…. I’ll be getting myself a ticket to check it out.


Not put off yet by the above? Then let’s discuss the film a little more.

The premise of this feature is based around mainly 2 characters with interconnecting stories with other characters. Jovovich playing the witch Gray Alys and our Hunter (I thought Gunslinger at first, could even be a Diablo Demon Hunter) Boyce played by Bautista. Our witch requires the assistance of our Hunter to travel the Lost Lands in search of a magical power that allows a person to transform into a werewolf.

Getting herself caught up in affairs of others by being unable to deny someone’s request. She accepts this mission placing both our leads in situations that leads to some awesome action and maybe even make you feel emotion for snakes.

Despite how bad the execution of this story was. I loved the characters and world so much a part of me would watch it again if requested. If a sequel gets announced I’d check it out. Just know, its a bad movie. Get some good popcorn and turn the brain off. Maybe you too will have a new guilty pleasure movie that you’d be happy to say you liked it or keep to yourself haha.


Popped score of 6.5/10. Lots of goodness but soured to the core. Let’s hope it makes enough to learn from this and for the script in the sequel be tweaked to a better quality. Or forget it and never think about this feature ever again :D.

Night of the Zoopocalypse “Review”

Release date: March 7, 2025 (USA)

Directors: Ricardo CurtisRodrigo Perez-Castro

Music by: Dan Levy

Distributed by: Elevation PicturesApollo Films

Based on: ZOOmbies; by Clive Barker

Had no expectations going in. Was either caught off guard or on moon rocks but this was a fun experience at the theatre. (Not for everyone….you’ll see soon :D)


What I’m calling, an intro to zombie movies for kids (But not all kids) – Night of the Zoopocalypse starts us off with a chase between our main wolf lead and a scary identity. This is her pack running drills to keep their survival instincts fresh and ready to protect the pack. The scope opens up to reveal their an exhibit of this zoo and we see a new face brought into the zoo during the pack lead’s teachings.

Showing that scope of the zoo, the animals, layout and environment playground for the film to have fun within later was a blast within just a few minutes. The characters were fun, good sound track and despite playing on all the movie troupes, played right into a bow tie of movie for big kids and little ones interested in a movie that’s a great entry point for zombies.

Sometimes this did get dark and scary. Other times let up and was bright and fun. The zombie gummy animals were a treat and seeing the combinations and designs was so much fun. Using the cutest of critters to be the zombies was great as you get to explore the horde navigating this space in addition to our “living” group leads.

As said from the top this was a blast and I had a lot of fun. Maybe having the theatre to myself released my inner kid but honestly I’d watch it again. Just be mindful of space rocks that come down within the zoo because you never know what the outbreak will be.

A potential sequel was teased at the end but I wouldn’t stick around for it. An audible queue and a lot of title screens. I’m not sure on the production house but I’ll be keeping an eye on these guys going forth.(L’Atelier Animation – Found out it’s a Canadian Animation Studio founded in 2014 and owned by Cinesite since 2022). Definitely got my interest and thus breaking the 7.5 pattern of late and scoring a popped score of 8/10. Great movie.


Another animated title I’m keeping my eye on is from the writers of Paddington in Peru with a title called Critterz. Have an inkling to check this title out? Waiting for streaming and catch the sequel in theatres next time? Let us know in the comments, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one.

I’m back and forth on my next couple of films but I plan to “Review” Mickey 17 either tomorrow or Tuesday night. Depends if I watch it twice or not. In the lost lands should be today’s movie. With possibly Mickey 17 or Rule Breakers tomorrow. Taking a break Monday 😛 then back in it with Mickey 17 Tuesday, Looney Tunes Wednesday & Black Bag Thursday.

Going to be a big week for movies as I catch up / ramp up throughout March before the big titles hit for summer next month / May.

Thanks for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews” and I’ll see you, next time!

Novocaine “Review”

Release date: March 14, 2025 (USA)

Directors: Robert OlsenDan Berk

Distributed by: Paramount Pictures

Production companies: Infrared Pictures; Safehouse Pictures; Circle of Confusion

During the feature I kept thinking how much Jack Quaid hadn’t aged from Dawson’s Creek….well, that’s because I was thinking of Joshua Jackson from that and Fringe. Any who, The Boys & Companion is Jack Quaid :D. Shall we begin.


With there being 10 days until the official release of this feature I’ll be very protective of spoilers. The marketing of this film was handled very well compared to a certain title released last month. I believe 2 scenes were cut from the trailer from the film which added to certain points.

From a romantic comedy intro to a action packed twist when our couple experience a bank robbery. This was a fun ride throughout. The last act did cost it an 8/10 great popped score placing it very good at a 7.5/10 but would recommend this title for a fun action comedy with complements to the romantic comedy.

Jack Quaid playing Nathan Caine, an assistant manager at the bank is head over hills interested in Shari, an employee at the bank being played by Amber Midthunder. Nathan has a disease that affects him from feeling pain. So much that eating a slice of cherry pie could cost him biting off his tongue. Mix this “Super Power” with the fact his love interest is taken as hostage during the bank robbery, this film goes off to explore many fun ways to implement this into a wacky over the top action movie.


Sit back, and enjoy the ride on March 14th at your local theatre. Popped Scoring of 7.5/10.

Happy March everyone, looking forward to Mickey 17 this coming week, Looney Tunes next and to explore maybe some hidden gems along the way before Snow White releases end of the month. Whatever your thoughts are on Snow White, we have Minecraft right around the corner leading us into the glorious summer box office of 2025.

Let’s shoot for end of April to look ahead into Summer and cast our predictions for the slate ahead. Thanks for coming to Popped for your movie “Reviews” and I’ll see you, next batch.

Oscars 2025

Howdy everyone and welcome to Popped.blog where today is the big day for Oscars!

Goodluck to those voting / participating, this is my first year to get into the Oscars after seriously committing to “reviewing” movies. When 2024 Oscars came around and I watched 1/10 of the Best Pictures. I knew something had to change haha. By the way, that movie was Barbie. I purchased Oppenheimer and still to this day have yet to watch it…. hopefully by time Oscars 2025 starts I would have :S?

That being said, let’s have fun and all the love for everyone voting differently to what I place. May we have fun and have enjoyed awesome content along the way.



Here, the full list of the 2025 Oscar nominations:

Best Picture – Anora

Anora – 8/10 Popped Score – Winner 5x Oscar Winner
The Brutalist – 8/10 Popped Score
A Complete Unknown – 8.5/10 Popped Score
Conclave – 6/10 Popped Score
Dune: Part Two – 8.5/10 Popped Score – (Reviewed Prior to Score Changes)
Emilia Pérez – Sadly wasn’t able to watch in time
I’m Still Here – Sadly wasn’t able to watch in time
Nickel Boys – Never Finished the Review it seems! 7/7.5 /10 Good Movie
The Substance9/10 (Would LOVE IT to win)
Wicked9/10 (My Vote)


Best Actress – Mikey Madison

Cynthia Erivo, Wicked (My Vote)
Karla Sofía Gascón, Emilia Pérez
Mikey Madison, Anora – Winner
Demi MooreThe Substance (Would Love her to win)
Fernanda TorresI’m Still Here


Best Actor – Adrien Brody

Adrien Brody, The Brutalist – Winner
Timothée Chalamet, A Complete Unknown (My Vote)Dune Part 2 & Complete Unknown
Colman Domingo, Sing Sing
Ralph Fiennes, Conclave
Sebastian Stan, The Apprentice


Best Supporting Actress – Zoe Saldaña

Monica BarbaroA Complete Unknown
Ariana Grande, Wicked (My Vote)
Felicity Jones, The Brutalist
Isabella Rossellini, Conclave
Zoe Saldaña, Emilia Pérez – Winner


Best Supporting Actor – Kieran Culkin

Yura Borisov, Anora (My Vote)
Kieran CulkinA Real Pain – Winner
Edward Norton, A Complete Unknown
Guy Pearce, The Brutalist
Jeremy Strong, The Apprentice


Best Director – Sean Baker

Sean Baker, Anora – Winner
Brady Corbet, The Brutalist
James Mangold, A Complete Unknown
Jacques Audiard, Emilia Pérez
Coralie Fargeat, The Substance (My Vote)


Best Original Screenplay – Anora

Anora – Winner
The Brutalist
A Real Pain
September 5
The Substance (My Vote)


Best Adapted Screenplay – Conclave

A Complete Unknown (My Vote)
Conclave – Winner
Emilia Pérez
Nickel Boys
Sing Sing


Best Cinematography – The Brutalist

The Brutalist – Winner
Dune: Part Two (My Vote)
Emilia Pérez
Maria
Nosferatu


Best Original Score – The Brutalist

The Brutalist – Winner
Conclave
Emilia Pérez
Wicked (Would Love)
The Wild Robot (My Vote)


Best Original Song – El Mal

“El Mal,” Emilia Pérez – Winner
“The Journey,” The Six Triple Eight
“Like a Bird,” Sing Sing
“Mi Camino,” Emilia Pérez
“Never Too Late,”  Elton John: Never Too Late (My Vote)


Best Editing – Anora

Anora – Winner
The Brutalist
Conclave (My Vote) – Should have been Challengers though
Emilia Pérez
Wicked


Best Production Design – Wicked

The Brutalist
Conclave
Dune: Part Two
Nosferatu
Wicked – Winner (My Vote)


Best Costume Design – Wicked

A Complete Unknown
Conclave
Gladiator II
Nosferatu
Wicked – Winner (My Vote)


Best Makeup and Hairstyling – The Substance

A Different Man
Emilia Pérez
Nosferatu
The Substance – Winner (My Vote)
Wicked


Best Sound – Dune: Part Two

A Complete Unknown
Dune: Part Two – Winner
Emilia Pérez
Wicked (My Vote)
The Wild Robot


Best Visual Effects – Dune: Part Two

Alien: Romulus
Better Man (My Vote)
Dune: Part Two – Winner
Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes
Wicked


Best International Feature – I’m Still Here

I’m Still Here (Brazil) – Winner (My Vote)
The Girl with the Needle (Denmark)
Emilia Pérez (France)
The Seed of the Sacred Fig (Germany)
Flow (Latvia) (Would love)


Best Animated Feature – Flow

Flow – Winner – My Runner Up Choice
Inside Out 2
Memoir of a Snail
Wallace and Gromit: Vengeance Most Fowl
The Wild Robot (My Vote)


Best Animated Short – In the Shadow of the Cypress

Beautiful Men
In the Shadow of the Cypress (My Vote) Winner
Magic Candies
Wander to Wonder
Yuck!

Black Box Diaries
No Other Land – Winner
Porcelain War
Soundtrack to a Coup d’Etat
Sugarcane (My Vote) – Sounded Cool 🙂


Best Live-Action Short – I’m Not a Robot

A Lien
Anuja
I’m Not a Robot – Winner (My Vote)
The Last Ranger
The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent


Best Documentary Feature – No Other Land

Technical issue deleted this segment 😵


Best Documentary Short – The Only Girl in the Orchestra

Death By Numbers
I Am Ready, Warden
Incident
Instruments of a Beating Heart
The Only Girl in the Orchestra – Winner (My Vote)


I’ll update this page during / after the Oscars declare / announce the winner. Again good luck to you all. I’m not winning for sure haha but went with my heart for the love of Wicked and Substance. Shame Challengers wasn’t mentioned :(. Next year, Ne Zha 2 Let’s GO! 😀

7/23 I got right 😀 for 2025. Maybe better luck next time? Despite getting it wrong, 1/23 was my runner-up / 2nd choice 😀

Ne Zha 2 “Review”

Release date: February 14, 2025 (USA)

Director: Jiaozi (Yang Yu)

Budget: $80 million

Based on: Investiture of the Gods by Xu Zhonglin

Distributed by: Beijing Enlight Pictures CMC Pictures (Australia, New Zealand, USA, Canda)

Box Office: US $1.40 Billion

I’m so happy to have watched the 1st feature yesterday and now be apart and won in by this franchise. From streaming in the background to less than half way getting fully engaged and falling in love with a new franchise. Let’s dive into the sequel, with Ne Zha 2.


If you’re coming into this “Review” unaware of this franchise then let’s discuss the over-view rather than the sequel. If you’re coming into this “Review” to read about the sequel knowing and enjoying the first title…. then hear this. The sequel of Ne Zha makes the 1st title look like a okay movie. With 5 times the action, family development, friendship, emotion, lore, world building, epicness, humor, Villians, Heroes, etc, etc 😀 you’re going to love it.

If you read the previous “Review” you’ll know that I’m locking this feature into my 2025 best animated feature Oscar spot. Unless something comes out and totally surprises me. Animated titles for 2025 have an extremely hard battle ahead of them to dethrone this epic cinema master piece.

The Ne Zha franchise is based on a Chinese mythological character, focusing on the story of a young boy named Ne Zha who is born as a demon child. Destined to bring destruction, but fights against his fate to protect his village and defy the established order, often battling powerful deities and challenging the heavens with his supernatural abilities; the narrative explores themes of rebellion, self-determination, and overcoming prejudice against one’s perceived destiny

Anime enjoyers out there could relate to this with Naruto as Ne Zha. Also for the fighting and powers/abilities. Those into Dragon Balls Z and similar animes would get behind this franchise.

The animation is very well done and event improves with the sequel. Will there be a third title? Think, will there be a 4th,5th and 6th haha. The amount of lore and world building established in the sequel is insane where this franchise will take it.

My spoon is ready and my desert is before me 😀 Let’s get to eating good.

I’m super pumped to watch this again including that of the original. Popped Score for Ne Zha 2 is an easy top score of 9/10 going into my #1 spot of 2025 thus far and into my #1 spot for best animated feature.


Thanks for coming by Popped.blog for your newest batch of movie “Reviews”. This is a epic masterpiece and I’m excited to hear from yawl on this title / franchise.

See you back here Sunday night with Nickel Boys and my overall thoughts with the Oscars.

Heart Eyes “Review”

Release date: February 7, 2025 (USA)

Director: Josh Ruben

Producers: Christopher LandonAdam HendricksGreg Gilreath

Distributed by: Screen GemsRepublic Pictures

Budget: $18 million

Music by: Jay Wadley

Character design and trailer were intriguing. Well butt in seat, lets check this title out shall we..


If you read my previous “Review” you have a gage in where this is going.

From the opening scene I was worried. The campy B horror movie was showing and I buckled in for a bumpy ride hoping for a decent movie at best. A glimmer of light came after this intro segment that unlocked a new category shortly after….. It’s so bad it’s good?

Before we get ahead let’s go into the movie shall we. Think Scary Movie where the killer (Heart Eyes) is going around killing couples. It felt like the movie was having fun on itself having parodies and following tropes overly used in other scary movies. Sadly for myself this teetered on the It’s so bad it’s good…..for some people? But not for myself.

It walked the tight rope but fell in the bad camp for myself. Or at least it’s almost so bad its good for some people tier. Slightly missing the mark of being good. Was it the execution? The overly used tropes. The fact that metal straws wont save the day? Or the fact that the coffee shop scene was the highlight for myself on the discussion of metal straws vs plastic cups… yea it’s not for me but it’s for someone. Which is clearly shown in the mid reviews on several platforms.

Check it out have fun? Or save yourself some time and wait for the hopeful better horror movie “The Monkey”? Either way this will be joining Love Hurts in my bottom 5 list for 2025 with a popped score of 3.5/10.


Going to attempt to have Captain America 4 review up by Sunday. All depending when I have chance to check the title out. Paddington 3 should go live Thursday morning. If possible I’ll try squeeze in “I’m Still Here” this week also before my surgery a week from today.

Thanks for coming by Popped.blog for your movie “Reviews” and excited / hopeful for the movies coming ahead of us in February 2025… January started off pretty good so dips are sure to occur.

See you next batch 😀

Love Hurts “Review”

Release date: February 7, 2025 (USA)

Director: Jonathan Eusebio

Producers: David LeitchKelly McCormickGuy Danella

Distributed by: Universal Pictures

Budget: $18 million

Production company: 87North Productions

Not going to lie. I did see the RT score of 23% prior to watching this one. That being said, my love for Ke Huy Quan from Everything Everywhere All At Once had me enticed to still check out this feature.


If you’re a fan of anime then go check out Sakamoto Days. It’s similar in premise of bad guy gone straight for love, however the implementation here was poorly executed….unless you’re discussing the execution scenes then we’re having a good time.

Ke Huy Quan plays Marvin, a Milwaukee realtor who receives a crimson envelope from Rose, his former partner-in-crime whom he left for dead… She’s Back!

Living between his new life as a realtor clashed with his past, the story of love, brotherly conflict and family drama commences. Storyline wise you’re not getting anything special here. Sadly all the valentines stuff is pretty meh and poorly written.

The characters however are fun and a delight during fight sequences. This is the strength of Love Hurts and the only reason for checking out this feature. Between Ke Huy Quan (Marvin), Mashawn Lynch (King), Andre Eriksen (Otis) & Mustafa Shakir (Raven) these 4 actors were a treat and saved this feature from dropping below this tier I’ll be scoring it within.

For such a short movie, coming in at 1Hr 23minutes. There shouldn’t be any lows and boring segments. Short concise movie getting to the point and have fun with it. Sadly that wasn’t the case but glad the 3 fight scenes were enjoyable even if the fourth was a dud in comparrison.

Happy Valentines to me, we have our first movie of 2025 to make it on the bottom 5 list. Don’t worry it’ll have a valentine to join it shortly. Stick around for the next “Review”. Love Hurts gets a popped score of 4.5/10, no amount of boba will save this title.


With that “Review” conducted we have our first stale batch of “Reviews” coming at you to begin February. Big Ooof, but let’s hope next week has something exciting with Cap 4 & Paddington?

Dog Man “Review”

Release date: January 31, 2025 (USA)

Director: Peter Hastings

Distributed by: Universal Pictures

Based on: Dog Man; by Dav Pilkey

Music by: Tom Howe

Produced by: Karen Foster

The poster looks super cute and enjoyed watching Captain Underpants so had to check this title out.


To my surprise there was a Bad Guys 2 short prior to the movie. Love this direction for DreamWorks as 2024 Inside Out 2 didn’t have a short which was mind blowing for a Pixar movie not to feature a short.

Buckle your seatbelt as Dog Man takes you through a barrel of laughs, emotion & visual overload. A great fathers day movie, I wasn’t expecting to have so much love and bonding in this movie.

From prior to Dog Man existing, this cop duo was the brains and brawn of the police force. Sadly, due to an explosive incident attempting to capture Petey, the head of Dog and body of the Man became Dog Man and thus the emotion begins. Going from having your best friend one minute to being merged the next. There’s a lot of heart and loneliness to Dog Man at first.

That’s until Chief calls Dog Man and centers his focus onto capturing Petey. An “Evil” cat that’s out to do bad. You know what could top his evilness? A clone of himself! Thus Lil Petey was born! Loved loved loved these three characters. Chief is great along with Flippy the Fish, Flippy. You’re going to have a blast watching this movie.

So many moments of greatness, I’m back and forth on a 8 or 7.5. I’m excited to see more as there’s plenty of source material to expand on this franchise. I’d love to watch it again but somethings keeping it back from an 8 due to moments of lengthiness despite being an hour and 34 minutes long.


Did you check out Dog Man? Excited to check it out this weekend? Love to hear your thoughts in the comments below. Stay tuned for 1 last movie of the month with Love Me. (Which maybe the movie I thought Companion was :P) Coming Friday Night.

Thanks for coming by Popped.blog fellow movie goers and have an awesome weekend ahead with Companion and Dog Man :D.

Companion “Review”

Release date: January 31, 2025 (USA)

Director: Drew Hancock

Producers: Zach CreggerRaphael MargulesJ. D. LifshitzRoy Lee

Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures

Budget: $10 million

Cinematography: Eli Born

When you have the day off to watch films and it happens to coincide with a horror secret movie. You just gotta take the Mrs to go check it out :D.


In my head I thought Companion was the virtual reality AI movie that’s coming up but I was wrong. I did hear lots of positive buzz so did go in with higher than usual expectations.

My wife and I had a good time in this movie. It’s a good one time watch about a group of friends going out into the middle of nowhere to hangout. I’ll keep it spoiler free so I’ll keep it short. If you enjoy Jack Quaid staring in another upcoming movie Novocaine or Lukas Gage who was in Smile 2 along with Sophie Thatcher in the recent release of Heretic, then you’re going to have a good time. Great performances from everyone.

The plot/story points can be weak and pulled apart but overall it’s not bad. A good one time watch movie I’m sitting between a 7/7.5 on this title. With the audience reaction to certain scenes I can see some enjoying this more than others. I’m feeling this sits nicely at a 7 when looking back on this feature and if I’d watch it again.


That’s been this weeks latest batch of “Reviews”, pretty short but don’t want to spoil the experience here as that’s the whole point of this title. Keep an eye on Popped.blog for another “Review” staring that of Dog Man to wrap up the first month of 2025.

Overall a good month of movies. Definitely starting stronger than 2024 and something I’m excited to see more from as we get nearer to the summer with big block busters releasing.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑