Saw this advertised all 2025 winter with a December release – Missed the memo of it’s delay to Feb2026!
I think if watched without being awake since 4am and working I’d of enjoyed this more. Honestly this “review” is more like that of Zootopia where I may need to re-watch it. From my experience and falling asleep during the middle it was an okay movie. Woke up to learn all the interesting connections with these two characters.
What lost me was the story change that I had created in my mind compared to the film I was watching. From a fascinating intro with Scarlet and he father. Setting her up on this quest for avenging him. To this futuristic young man appearing and changing the game. I wanted more of the intro but again maybe there’s more that I missed from the middle. I did enjoy the intro and the ending was enough to understand the purpose to the film.
It’s okay. But for those that did stay awake. What did you think? From me here at Popped – 6/10*. I’ve still yet to see Arco as it’s not released where I’m from. Which is wild for that to be nominated for an Oscar over Demon Slayer & Ne Zha 2 and not having a wide release :S. I’ll get into that nearer to the Oscars though….
Thank you for that quick “review” of Scarlet as we catch up with this weeks batch of 4 :D. See you in the next one coming right up – Cold Storage!
I have my office back! Let’s catch up on last weekends batch of “Reviews”.
To “Rapid Fire” this batch of “reviews” to catch up :D.
Chris Hemsworth (Playing Mike Davis) a master thief, with Halle Berry’s character (Sharon Combs) an insurance broker, join forces for a big heist. Meanwhile Mark Ruffalo plays a detective, that’s pursuing the criminal that’s committed non violent heists all along the 101 freeway in California, in attempts to prevent a multi-million dollar crime! Non violent being the key to our other character Ormon (Played by Barry Keoghan).
Quick notes: – Crime 101 was a fine movie. Keeping me entertained but felt extremely long. It’s a worthy watch but don’t go in tired haha. I had to lock in to keep awake. Everyone does a good job. Has some nice action and interesting cinematography as the voice over plays throughout various scenes.
Has some good elements to be a Popcorn Heist/Detective movie. Just sadly slow and rather long. A weak 7 or 6.5 for me personally here at Popped :D.
It’s been a minute since GOAT but I’ve finally returned to the office to type up this recent batch of “reviews”. March 1st is approaching which I’m excited for RT to open up applications :D. Oscars are coming on the 15th. It’s time to lock in and catch up. Even if the salt to the wound of animation nominees is still feeling rather fresh.
See you for the next “Review” with my first 9 :O of 2026 😉 see you there :D.
Once again Shudder comes to the big screen with a worthy theatrical release – Whistle!
It’s a fine to weak 7 good movie which had several elements I enjoyed watching this feature. Yea the story could of had a better wrap up but that’s the fun with these smaller indie movies. You’re not sure what direction they’ll take.
Bring ear plugs if you’re wanting to preserve your hearing or care about that :P. The movie gets incredibly loud. Concepts of death and the loose rules established were fun. Loved that Nick Frost was apart of this title :D. Gave me homage feelings to Shaun of the Dead :D.
Currently, the movie is sitting at a 6/10 on RT & IMDb. Why this is getting less attention than Primate baffles me, but I’ve only heard from others how awful Primate was, with some exceptions to its sound design. Whistle does have a pool utilized, but they also have an actual world established. Shout-outs to the fair scenes, as those maze designs and costumes were very cool. Sky Yang’s character, Rel, had Nightwing vibes, which was very cool!
Otherwise, the story is based around this Whistle that once heard or blown on. Death will be called and seek you. I won’t spoil the causes, and all but again the deaths were a lot of fun, a majority of the time. Which is where it gets that weaker 7 rating for me personally.
So what about yourselves? Going to check out Whistle? Already seen it? Love to hear your thoughts down below in the comments.
Greatly appreciate you for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”, stay tuned for more awesome movies coming up in the month of February. Hoping good things from GOAT. Good Luck Have Fun Don’t Die and maybe some other random surprises along the way.
Until next time though fellow moviegoers – Happy Movie Going 😀
Didn’t know this was based on a video game…maybe should have done some research!
I went in, not seeing a single trailer of this movie. Markiplier’s name was enough and sold. I came out wishing I had more context for the story. Let’s discuss, shall we?
Let’s start with my headliner sentence and work from there. If this were an exclusive title on a streaming platform. I’d subscribe to see this movie. Iron Lung is a high-quality, low-budget movie that stars Markiplier, not just directed by himself. Markiplier is now in my mind, an actor, not just youtuber. He delivers an excellent performance throughout this movie and really holds the movie up, being that he’s our focus for 95% of the time.
I’d honestly consider this an Oscar nomination for costume and hair, harken back to Substance. For such a low-budget title, they did an excellent job with every design in this movie. I won’t spoil, just wanting to paint a picture :D.
It’s an extremely dark movie so don’t get too cozy or you may drift off like I did. But then something will occur. You’ll be locked in and they middle will pull you out and into a ride for the finale. Yes without context of the story I did find this rather long. But I was so intrigued I had to keep with it. Wanting to know the mystery and reveals to pay off.
Ask me about the story. You’ll get this: Convicts are granted an option. To have their freedom by going (Like a submarine) deep into the oceans of blood to explore/find (Something). Or be sentenced to prison instead. Looking at the Google overview, it says: “Survivors of the apocalypse launch an expedition to a barren moon with an ocean of blood.” I think doing some research with limited spoilers would be recommended for this title. It feels like an incredible adaptation of a video game. I just don’t have the accuracy for context. So far, 93% on RT. So, fans of Markiplier & the video game are very happy with this.
Personally, without that context, I’m giving Iron Lung a Popped score of 6.5 or weak 7/10. It’s a fine movie with plenty of good factors baked in. Without more story & lore explained/established throughout, I found this long after the initial intro, before the latter half picking up with awesome music and again, incredible acting from Markiplier and the costume designs.
Iron Lung is going to be an awesome streaming movie. It’s a high-quality production within low-budget confines, which will be thoroughly enjoyed in theatres for fans and those in the know. Now it’s time for me to watch a lets play and dive into the lore before watching it again.
It’s been a minute but I’m back and with an interesting title at that. Thanks for coming to Popped for your movie “reviews”. Did you check out Iron Lung? Interested to check it out? Or even doing some research now before your visit to the theatre. Love to hear your thoughts in the comments.
Stay tuned for Sunday night / Monday for my Send Help “Review”. Wasn’t able to attend last night, but on Sunday, I’ll be checking it out. Heard lots of positive feedback thus far. So excited to jump in :D.
Until next time, though, fellow moviegoers. Happy movie going :D.
Checked it out after seeing this is based on a true story. Let’s Discuss!
Without spoilers or wanting to come off as to harsh, this movie is just too long. I did fall asleep after the first hour as the pacing was just so slow. I expected something more inline with Song Sung Blue but sadly I left a little blue that this was mostly a 6/10 okay to fine movie at best for me personally.
What’s the story all about? Will Arnett (Playing Alex Novak) is facing an impending divorce. Juggling their personal lives with their friends & family ties. During this, Alex finds his purpose in New York within the comedy stand up scene. Maybe I missed the growth in the 20minutes I nodded off. But the ending was sweet, but didn’t have that emotional moving feeling like Song Sung Blue, or characters I connected with which empowered me to cheer on the character.
Love to hear your thoughts in the comments below, hopefully you had that connection and magic that didn’t get cast on my viewing experience.
Thank you for taking the time to come by Popped for your movie “Reviews”. While posting The Plague I realized I need to add some new categories to the site and thus 2026 can truly begin :D.
I thought The Plague was another zombie movie. WoW did I walk into something else.
I went through a couple of stages reflecting on this movie throughout my viewing experience. A coming of age kept coming to mind but mainly, without spoilers. The Plague is a dark window to viewers on the consequences of bullying.
A great group of young actors which should use this movie for their portfolio. It’s got good things going for it. As much as it’s not a zombie movie. I liked the lens being focused on this angle of dark consequences of bullying. It ramps up and keeps the movie concise. Even a bow tie of an ending? It’s a fine movie at a 6.5/10.
Solid performances from this group of actors. The Plague focuses on a group of young lads apart of a water polo camp. The social dynamics to Ben (Played by Everett Blunck) being new to this group are portrayed very well as the viewer is new to this world and environment. Eli (Played by Kenny Rasmussen) has some sort of infection and dubbed by Jake (Played by Kayo Martin) to have “The Plague”. Touch him and you’ll get it also.
This anxiety from the ruthless hierarchy of the water polo group spirals into psychological turmoil over the summer period. The horror elements or done in away of situational and environment. Something of an intrigue is the inclusion of music almost of that of Aztec in nature.
Thinking of checking out The Plague or already seen it ? Let me know in the comments below. Love to hear your thoughts. RT has it at a 100% believe it or not. IMDb at 7.2/10. Stay tuned for a continued batch of “reviews” as we dive next, into Is This Thing On?.
Thank you for coming by Popped! For your movie “Reviews”. Happy Movie-Going!
Has the time come for my childhood self to hang up on old animated I.P…? Let’s discuss!
For a short film, this movie sure felt long. 6 minutes of credits and a 6-minute short film, The SpongeBob Movie could have been cut to get a higher rating. Short film, you ask? Yes, a TMNT animated short was the intro and a fun 6 minutes at that. (Some may say the best 6 minutes for the entire runtime?).
What’s SpongeBob up to this time? Well, now being tall enough to ride the Big Boy Bay rollercoaster. SpongeBob needs the courage and determination to overcome the fears of such a coaster. Setting his path to Mr. Krabs which sends SpongeBob & Patrick on an adventure to the Underwear…. Underworld sorry Ha Ha, to gain his swashbuckler certificate!
I had some laugh-out-loud moments. Was between a 6 & 7. Ultimately, going with a 6.5 for such a short feature feeling so long. The movie starts slow, but does eventually pick up with the adventure.
As mentioned at the top. Maybe I’m getting too old, and the younger generations of fans will love this movie? Well have to see what this weekend brings us as our pre-batch of movies releases for the holidays.
Appreciate you taking the time to come by Popped for your movie “Reviews”. Still to come this weekend are Housemaid & Avatar 3. Maybe I’ll get another viewing of David in there, but let’s see how the week goes.
Until next time fellow movie goers! Happy Movie Going 😀
I enjoyed it way more than the press & its current review scores are at.
Someone asked me, upon leaving the theatre, what I thought. I said it’s a cute movie. They then asked what it was about. It’s about a 34-year-old woman named Ella McCay becoming the Governor where she was born & raised. Now she must balance her personal life with her family & husband, along with the trials and hardships brought on by becoming Governor.
I enjoyed the characters, performances and story being told. It’s a fine movie worth checking out. Even if those scores are being dragged through the mud with 22% on RT & mid to low 50’s on other platforms.
Here at Popped, I gave Ella McCay a 6.5/10. It’s a fine movie that I didn’t find boring to watch.
Thank you for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”. Last one of this week’s batch, and I’ll be going back to bed. – David! Got to check out the early access yesterday.
I was worried this movie would feel out of season…but ….let’s discuss, shall we!
Elizabeth Lail (Playing Vanessa Shelly), Josh Hutcherson (Playing Mike Schmidt) & Piper Rubio (Playing Abby) are back once again for the sequel to FNAF. Some recap and a dark opener are setting up this sequel, but otherwise, this felt about the same as the original.
Great additions from McKenna Grace (Playing Lisa), a paranormal investigator who heads into the original Freddy’s location on a tour. Without spoilers, she may honestly have some of the best scenes in the movie.
It’s darker when it wants to be. Has better scares when it wants to. Includes gameplay elements from the second game….when it eventually gets there. But otherwise suffers for me personally the same as the sequel did.
Love the nights at Freddy’s. Love the animatronics. Loved the horror elements. Could have done without the relationship BS. Long-winded PTSD segments. The back-and-forth between FNAF content & movie “filler” content.
Otherwise, a fine movie with some good horror scares mixed in. A popped score of 6.5, and worth sticking around for the mid-credit scene. For FNAF fans, maybe stick around to the end for an easter egg?
Thank you for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews” fellow movie goers :D.
Be seeing you over the weekend for Fackham Hall & Hamnet. Checking out FNAF 2 this weekend? Let me know what you thought in the comments below. Also, for those fans out there of the games. How true/accurate are the movies keeping to them?
Until next time, though, happy movie going fellow movie-goers!
Loved Tatiana Maslany in Orphan Black and went in expecting something along that…WTF!
I’ll come right out with this one. Someone asked what this movie is about. The question stumped me as I didn’t want to spoil anything. Seriously. This movie summed up is a total WTF experience. It’ll be a solid top-notch streamer late at night. Popped score of 6.5/10. The second half was good, but that first hour had me split.
Liz (Played by Tatiana Maslany) & her partner Malcom (Played by Rossif Sutherland) have an interesting chemistry at first, which I wish I saw a quick connection point between the two before the uncertainty and skepticism.
The film setup this feature beautifully. Establishing the trend and revealing slightly the WTF nature of what’s to come without fully revealing literally anything.
This is what kept me in suspense. Wanting more. Wanting to see what the literal fuck is going on in this title. Maybe that’s why my rating is slightly higher than others, with 6/10 on IMDb being the highest thus far.
Out of all three features in this batch, I would love to know your thoughts on Keeper. Maybe I’ve teased you to check it out, maybe you’re turned away. Either way, this is a fine, almost good movie with 6.5/10. The second half was what almost got this to a 7, but ultimately, without going into spoilers, was the reason why it stayed in the 6’s.
With that, we have our trilogy of movies this week, and I appreciate you all coming by Popped for those movie “Reviews. With Keepers that puts our total movie count at ……. 127 if I counted my posts correctly…. WOW, speak about losing track.
Goal was 100 – Maybe we can hit 150 by the end of December? Let me know your predictions in the comments below, and how many movies you’re currently up to for watch count.