This was a cute movie – No Goat/Hoppers but something that offers many lessons to little ones.
There were so many characters packed into this movie, which was a delight. Sadly, I didn’t care for the annoying Sea dragon Pip. But she did offer a lot of lessons for our main Mr. Fish, the Pout Pout Fish.
Personal shout out faves were the Star Fish organization and Cuttle Fish storylines. Had me laughing allowed for those scenes. Storyline – Our two main characters are looking to make a wish to save their homes by searching for the (Whisper) Shimmer (Whisper).
Along their journey to find the … (Whisper) Shimmer (Whisper), they create friendships with many of the other sea inhabitants. It has the ingredients for a 7.5 but I’m giving the Pout Pout Fish a good one time watch of a 7/10. Watch it with your lil ones and unpack the lessons throughout the film after the ending wraps.
Don’t forget to stick around for a mid credit scene prior to the crawl. That was a funny scene worth checking out :D.
Week and a half away from Mario everyone so let’s get to watching all the movies prior to April now :D. Still to come next week is. They Will Kill You. Which I’m very excited for.
Thanks for coming to Popped for your movie “Reviews”.
Until next batch though, Happy movie-going fellow movie-goers 😀
Got to love small budget horror movies – The creativity can far surpass that of a big budget production
Despite advertising as the scariest movie ever heard. The visuals add a lot to this film in creating an unsettling horror experience. Let it cook is literally this movie summed up. You may want your ice cream before it melts, but you may have filled up on your cake before getting to it 😉 :D.
What’s the setting of Undertone? Well, it’s the name of the podcast being hosted by two individuals. You’ll be following the story through one of the hosts who is taking care of their dying mother. Speaking of visuals – Some of the freakish scenes were with her mother. No spoilers here, but your eyes will either be playing tricks on you, or the complete subtlety of the visual settings and scenes is so well done that something is in the background while you’re experiencing the audio messages playing.
Messages? The podcast Undertone is recording its latest episode with 10 audio clips sent in from an anonymous sender. Diving into these clips is where the scares truly begin as the narrative unfolds. Good Luck, Have Fun & Don’t look away as you may have experiences playing tricks on you like a few of us did attending the early showing at midnight! Multiple people saw things that didn’t happen, and a lot of visual settings and an uncomfortable atmosphere were felt. Make of that as you will, but have fun 😀 Happy Horror watching. The closest experience is probably watching Paranormal Activity for the first time.
Planning to check out Undertone this weekend? Love to hear from you in the comments below. From me here at Popped – Undertone is getting a very good watch score of 7.5. That ending cost a potential 8, but it’s worth checking out in theatres. Especially for those with great speakers. Watching this at 3am is a must for those watching at Home streaming.
Thank you all for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”. Next posting will be for the Oscars as they broadcast this coming Sunday the 15th. Good luck to all those that participate in voting and happy viewing for those tuning in to see who wins best picture of the year. I’ll be live updating during the broadcast for all to follow along.
Until then though, happy movie going fellow movie-goers! 😀
Liam Neeson’s Naked Gun Energy, meets Zombieland – Good times await with Cold Storage!
The naked gun of horror I wrote down as first thoughts :P. Bringing random fun to this film that entertains zombie film enjoyers along with those looking for something a little alien and supernatural.
Liam Neeson (Playing Robert Quinn) seals and contains an extremely deadly alien substance that communicates with it’s host to kill themselves, infect others and explodes the hosts core from deep within! 😉 Enjoy that visual :D.
We have Joe Keery from recent huge franchise “Stranger Things” working at a self-storage company along with his co-worker Naomi Williams (Played by Georgina Campbell). The thing about this storage company…. the virus was contained within here many years prior, before the place shut down and land sold to the general public after government abandoned it.
Can the three save humanity from this virus getting loose and affecting the planet :O? You’ll have to check it out and find out. I had a solid good time with this one getting a Popped score of 7.5/10. Good campy fun horror. Doesn’t take itself serious, sit back with some popcorn and have a gory good time.
With that fellow movie-goers is the finale of this weeks batch of 4. I’m all caught up with Critical Role so with 30 minutes to go before the next episode goes live. It’s a time to make some dinner and settle in :D.
Thanks for coming by Popped everyone. Greatly appreciate you all and look forward to seeing you all. Next Time 😀
I have my office back! Let’s catch up on last weekends batch of “Reviews”.
To “Rapid Fire” this batch of “reviews” to catch up :D.
Chris Hemsworth (Playing Mike Davis) a master thief, with Halle Berry’s character (Sharon Combs) an insurance broker, join forces for a big heist. Meanwhile Mark Ruffalo plays a detective, that’s pursuing the criminal that’s committed non violent heists all along the 101 freeway in California, in attempts to prevent a multi-million dollar crime! Non violent being the key to our other character Ormon (Played by Barry Keoghan).
Quick notes: – Crime 101 was a fine movie. Keeping me entertained but felt extremely long. It’s a worthy watch but don’t go in tired haha. I had to lock in to keep awake. Everyone does a good job. Has some nice action and interesting cinematography as the voice over plays throughout various scenes.
Has some good elements to be a Popcorn Heist/Detective movie. Just sadly slow and rather long. A weak 7 or 6.5 for me personally here at Popped :D.
It’s been a minute since GOAT but I’ve finally returned to the office to type up this recent batch of “reviews”. March 1st is approaching which I’m excited for RT to open up applications :D. Oscars are coming on the 15th. It’s time to lock in and catch up. Even if the salt to the wound of animation nominees is still feeling rather fresh.
See you for the next “Review” with my first 9 :O of 2026 😉 see you there :D.
Once again Shudder comes to the big screen with a worthy theatrical release – Whistle!
It’s a fine to weak 7 good movie which had several elements I enjoyed watching this feature. Yea the story could of had a better wrap up but that’s the fun with these smaller indie movies. You’re not sure what direction they’ll take.
Bring ear plugs if you’re wanting to preserve your hearing or care about that :P. The movie gets incredibly loud. Concepts of death and the loose rules established were fun. Loved that Nick Frost was apart of this title :D. Gave me homage feelings to Shaun of the Dead :D.
Currently, the movie is sitting at a 6/10 on RT & IMDb. Why this is getting less attention than Primate baffles me, but I’ve only heard from others how awful Primate was, with some exceptions to its sound design. Whistle does have a pool utilized, but they also have an actual world established. Shout-outs to the fair scenes, as those maze designs and costumes were very cool. Sky Yang’s character, Rel, had Nightwing vibes, which was very cool!
Otherwise, the story is based around this Whistle that once heard or blown on. Death will be called and seek you. I won’t spoil the causes, and all but again the deaths were a lot of fun, a majority of the time. Which is where it gets that weaker 7 rating for me personally.
So what about yourselves? Going to check out Whistle? Already seen it? Love to hear your thoughts down below in the comments.
Greatly appreciate you for coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”, stay tuned for more awesome movies coming up in the month of February. Hoping good things from GOAT. Good Luck Have Fun Don’t Die and maybe some other random surprises along the way.
Until next time though fellow moviegoers – Happy Movie Going 😀
Didn’t know this was based on a video game…maybe should have done some research!
I went in, not seeing a single trailer of this movie. Markiplier’s name was enough and sold. I came out wishing I had more context for the story. Let’s discuss, shall we?
Let’s start with my headliner sentence and work from there. If this were an exclusive title on a streaming platform. I’d subscribe to see this movie. Iron Lung is a high-quality, low-budget movie that stars Markiplier, not just directed by himself. Markiplier is now in my mind, an actor, not just youtuber. He delivers an excellent performance throughout this movie and really holds the movie up, being that he’s our focus for 95% of the time.
I’d honestly consider this an Oscar nomination for costume and hair, harken back to Substance. For such a low-budget title, they did an excellent job with every design in this movie. I won’t spoil, just wanting to paint a picture :D.
It’s an extremely dark movie so don’t get too cozy or you may drift off like I did. But then something will occur. You’ll be locked in and they middle will pull you out and into a ride for the finale. Yes without context of the story I did find this rather long. But I was so intrigued I had to keep with it. Wanting to know the mystery and reveals to pay off.
Ask me about the story. You’ll get this: Convicts are granted an option. To have their freedom by going (Like a submarine) deep into the oceans of blood to explore/find (Something). Or be sentenced to prison instead. Looking at the Google overview, it says: “Survivors of the apocalypse launch an expedition to a barren moon with an ocean of blood.” I think doing some research with limited spoilers would be recommended for this title. It feels like an incredible adaptation of a video game. I just don’t have the accuracy for context. So far, 93% on RT. So, fans of Markiplier & the video game are very happy with this.
Personally, without that context, I’m giving Iron Lung a Popped score of 6.5 or weak 7/10. It’s a fine movie with plenty of good factors baked in. Without more story & lore explained/established throughout, I found this long after the initial intro, before the latter half picking up with awesome music and again, incredible acting from Markiplier and the costume designs.
Iron Lung is going to be an awesome streaming movie. It’s a high-quality production within low-budget confines, which will be thoroughly enjoyed in theatres for fans and those in the know. Now it’s time for me to watch a lets play and dive into the lore before watching it again.
It’s been a minute but I’m back and with an interesting title at that. Thanks for coming to Popped for your movie “reviews”. Did you check out Iron Lung? Interested to check it out? Or even doing some research now before your visit to the theatre. Love to hear your thoughts in the comments.
Stay tuned for Sunday night / Monday for my Send Help “Review”. Wasn’t able to attend last night, but on Sunday, I’ll be checking it out. Heard lots of positive feedback thus far. So excited to jump in :D.
Until next time, though, fellow moviegoers. Happy movie going :D.
Mercy – A guilty pleasure movie? Well, I had a good time at least 😀
Saw 19% on RT and, well, let’s get to it shall we :D.
I honestly had a really good time in this movie. Throw your hate for A.I aside if you’re watching this movie, as maybe that’s why the RT is that low? You’re not going into Mercy for Oscar-winning acting. It’s a popcorn movie that was entertaining and had great music. 7.5 from me at Popped.
Interested to hear more? Let’s continue.
Chris Pratt plays Detective Chris Raven, who awakens at the start, strapped to this chair. His (If you recall Minority Report, then you get the idea of this movie) judge, jury & executioner, Mercy is the A.I program Judge Maddox (Played by Rebecca Ferguson), which uses advanced technology to predict whether you’re guilty of a crime. In Chris’s situation, being guilty of killing his wife.
It’s an hour and 40-minute movie that moves the pacing along well. Keeps you engaged and even has breadcrumbs of a detective mystery to solve, leading to Chris’s execution before the 90-minute timer runs out. Is Chris guilty or innocent? If innocent who killed his wife? Go watch Mercy to find out :D.
I was going to say something, but that’d be a spoiler, so I’ll say the movie can be predictable if you’re following the breadcrumbs. But that’s what kept it from the 8 for me personally. Again, maybe a guilty pleasure movie for me, haha. Someone hated this movie, and others may not like their cup of tea. It’s a movie that’s for sure. A movie for someone like me? That’s true to be. Otherwise, a bump along the journey that is January, as we await the nominations for the Oscars! In just under 3 hours from this going live.
Love to hear your thoughts on Mercy in the comments below. Is this your marmite? You either love it or hated it. Maybe somewhere in-between. I wouldn’t be mad watching this movie again. But maybe only the 1 additional watch for quite some time :D.
Thanks for coming by, Popped for your movie “Reviews”. By time I awake, the nominations will be live for the Oscars and I’m excited…..I’m probably going to be disappointed.. 😛 that Ne Zha 2 wasn’t nominated for best animated feature of 2025.
Until then, though, happy movie-going fellow moviegoers. Good Luck & Have Fun, may your Oscar hopes and hopefuls be in the nomination by the time we all wake up :D.
Had no idea other than it’s an anime before entering theatre. Shall we dive in?
For those that watched Edge of Tomorrow back in 2014 think of this as that in animated beauty. A random alien plant type structure arrives on earth and dubbed by them as Darol. Awakens one day as Rita is carrying out her day collecting resources from it with releasing massive alien flowers. Too die and re-awaken the very same morning to relive the same day over again.
It’s up to Rita and Keiji to figure this thing out and break the time loop and save earth. This title offers some nice character development and awesome action. Sadly I’d like to have known more on Darol the before / after of this story which maybe could come with a sequel but it’s lacking of setup / narrative wrap up kept me from getting to a great score.
Popped score of 7.5/10. Had a solid good time with this one and it’s pretty short if you happen to have it playing near you.
With that fellow moviegoers out there within the real of Popped 😀 We come to a close on this batch for January week of the 16th. To be continued next week with Mercy & Return to Silent Hill which I’m very much excited for…..but not expecting much from haha.
Thank you all very much for coming by Popped and spending your time with us here. Love to hear your thoughts in the comments below. Going to check out the titles mentioned above next week?
See you then fellow movie-goers and happy watching 😀
Based on a true story which is truly insane when you see what unfolds!
Richard Hall (Played by Dacre Montgomery (Not Zac Efron which I kept thinking :P)) son of Mortgage company president M.l. Hall, is taken hostage in 1977 by Tony Kiritsis (Played by Bill Skarsgard) to expose the Halls and demand justice for a sabotaged property deal.
Sometimes movies that are based on true events take liberties but it’s insane the real footage included in this title to parallel what you see recreated on screen.
Solid performances across the board and sit back to listen to a very beautiful voice over the radio as Fred Temple (Played by Colman Domingo) provides the peanut butter to a very enjoyable jam sandwich as you get dug in and take several layers of bites into the story unfolding before your eyes.
A 7.5/10 solid good movie well worth watching. I’d be happy watching again.
That’s 2 of 4 from this batch :D. What’s your thoughts on The Bone Temple & Dead Man’s Wire? Let us know in the comments below! Shall we get stuck into No Other Choice next 😀
Been curious how this will perform and while still divided, my excitement continues to build
You can check out my thoughts on 28 Years later before diving into its sequel – Bone Temple!
I was conflicted between the two stories within the previous installment and continued to be within this title. However! Upon reflecting that ending and taking these installments as a series whole. My excitement continues to build and I enjoyed the payoff. Even if I didn’t realize it until the moment hit :D.
No Spoilers here but taking my thoughts on the previous installment you can piece together what elements I enjoyed and didn’t and theory craft from there 😀 Or just go watch this movie!
Throughout the journey of this installment I was having a good time. With minor elements I wont get into the rating dipped to a 6.5 and back to 7 for others. That last 30minutes gave me goosebumps and for that. The Bone Temple gets a Popped score of 7.5/10. But will it on a second viewing? Maybe this will have two scores. Stand A-Lone & Trilogy score. Loved the connecting web that brought the series together and with that the long wait for the hopeful third installment of this 28 years trilogy can potentially bring this franchise to a close in fantastic climax? Let’s see shall we!
Appreciate you coming by Popped for your movie “Reviews”. Being this is a sequel keeping very spoiler free but from my prior thoughts and what’s mentioned. I think you can paint a picture :D.
That being said I have 1 hour to get this weeks batch of “Reviews” out so let’s press on as this is 1 of 4 movies watched this week 😀 INSANE I KNOW haha.